top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaedell Boateng

Day 0

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

Leaving Virginia and mama was hard. She said she’d like to consider moving to Ghana in a few years. I said, yes of course, whatever you want mama. But, uh, truth be told, she a lil bougie and might have a hard time adjusting to the developing world😂. Yes, I know. Some of you are thinking, I’m a lil bougie too. But I also am a multiculturalist which to me means I see the beauty in most peoples and places and relish learning history, culture, and people. Ghana is amazing for that. There is so much ingenuity and greatness here. For me it outweighs the other adjustments my bougie behind has to make.

I had a blast with my besties (my nieces). I still don’t know why they think I’m so cool buuut I will take it! We had a “family meeting” initiated by the youngest, Eva, where we talked about school and friends and boys and girls and girl power. It was dope. Six and seven year olds are dope. Eva also asked me if I love her more than Kwame and when I said yes she told me to make that I tell him so he knows it💜❣️😂

After three failed attempts to rent a car because of capitalism and racism, we took a 7 hour drive from Northern Virginia to New York, an airtrain ride to the terminal with our six gianr bags...one of which was dude and all his stuff...found favor with the check in agent (although the mishap was Delta’s fault) and finally made it onto the plane after many passport, temperature, and Covid checks. After we took off I took a few minutes to read all of the texts, voicemail transcriptions, email notes, and cards you’ve given me. There may have been a few tears as the reality of what the last ten years in Seattle has meant started to settle on me. I also love how I get to process the journey uniquely with each person who asks. This is such an experience, thanks for going part of the way with me!





27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page