top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaedell Boateng

Lasts

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

When you end one chapter you start to notice the last time you’ll do and experience things. Here’s a few of mine:

1-It‘s my last couple of weeks in my first home. If you missed the previous post, in just over a week, I sold my cute condo to a lovely family of first time home-owners. They are eager and excited to move in. I hope they are just as happy here as I have been🤗. We did run into a little snafu that may have led to a panic attack because they threatened to pull out of the sale but even in the midst of panic I knew to pray and I do believe that made the difference. It turned out ok and I’m still outta here April 15.

2-I visited my church for the last time...and also the first time in a year. Not having been there in so long, I thought I’d miss Chaune’s presence but it just felt like next Sunday we’d all be there in our usual seats, ready to sing, ready to worship. Like no time had passed and the last year didn’t happen. Miss you🖤


2-Last days being a Cannie. I submitted paperwork to change my name and in a few days I’ll get my new social security card to officially make me Mrs. Boateng. I’m glad I have two brothers with children so for at least another generation the Cannie name lives on. I‘ll miss that name but I feel happy to have an even stronger connection to African ancestry with this Ashanti name🇬🇭

3-My saddest “last” of all is saying bye bye to my Hulu account😩. Hulu only currently works in the U. S.😡 and I’m gonna have to be one of those people who watches everything a season behind when it comes out on Netflix 🙄. As you can see, my life is basically over.

4-I feel like I have the excuse to eat out everyday and not care because I’m saying goodbye to fave restaurants, cuisines, and flavors that just won’t be as easy to come by on the Motherland. Last week I went to one of my fave restaurants in the CD/ID: Cheeky Cafe and had their amahzing fries and chicken wings. This week I’m munching from my fave Mediterranean spot-Gyro Station and soul food spot-Altha’s. I think next will be Mexican. I also bought lots of my fave spices, many of which are southwestern/Mexican...Kwame is very excited to try tacos and nachos😂...I mean, who wouldn’t be?!

5-Last hangouts with the homies. Covid pretty much struck right after I started my job at the end of 2019, so hangouts haven’t really been possible. But my coworker boos and I are made the most of a girl’s night couple weeks ago and it was awesome.


As much as I refer to my time in WA as my wilderness experience, Im getting sad as I write these ”lasts”. It was a wilderness but ofcourse it shaped me. I came as 25 year old Raedell with dreams and a carload of stuff. I am leaving Dr. Raedell with such strong vision for my future...and slightly more but nicer stuff😂. In this time, I had my first surgery when I ruptured my Achilles’ tendon. I had my second surgery when I got my cornea transplanted in one eye. I adopted my furball Dude. Dated all the wrong dudes. Made friends. Lost friends. Grew more aware of my trauma AND my healing. Battled anxiety like never before and learned how to manage it. Launched a business. 💃🏾💃🏾💃🏾 Excuse me while I shout this out and that gospel song thats starts, ”when i look back, over my life, I’m grateful, thankful” plays in my spirit 💃🏾💃🏾💃🏾. It’s amazing what the wilderness can produce! I just can’t wait to see what springs anew in this next season. #flowerfaith



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page